Planning Commission

The Akron City Planning Commission was formed in 1914 and by charter, consists of five citizens appointed by the Mayor with the consent of Council. Each member serves a five-year term.? 

The City Planning Commission reviews and/or approves all matters regarding conditional use requests, rezonings, allotments, street vacations, dedications, sale of City land, Urban Renewal items, and annually reviews the Capital Investment Program. Planning Commission meetings are held on Fridays as scheduled on the linked calendar beginning at 9:00 am in City Council Chambers on the 3rd floor of 166 S. High Street in downtown Akron. Fees are on a sliding scale based on project cost, starting at $250.00 up to $1,500.

City Council makes the final decision on zoning matters such as a conditional use or rezoning. 


Current Commission Members

Planning Commission Programs

2024 programs
2023 programs