Citizens' Police Oversight Board

The Citizens' Police Oversight Board provides external and independent overview of Akron policing practices. They also oversee the Office of the Independent Police Auditor (OIPA). The OIPA will consist of 3 full-time employees including an Independent Police Auditor, a Deputy Independent Police Auditor, and an administrative staff member.

The Board is made up of 9 Akron residents. Three board members are appointed by the mayor with approval from City Council. The other 6 are appointed by a 2/3 majority of City Council. No more than two members can be from the same ward.

Read the charter language here for all duties and responsibilities of the Board.

Members of the Board: 
Chair, Kemp Boyd - kboyd@akronohio.gov
Vice-Chair, Donzella Anuszkiewicz - danuszkiewicz@akronohio.gov
Cati Castle - ccastle@akronohio.gov
Brandyn Costa - bcosta@akronohio.gov
Robert Gippin - rgippin@akronohio.gov
Shawn Peoples - speoples@akronohio.gov
Tristan Reed - treed@akronohio.gov
Beverly Richards - brichards@akronohio.gov

**To reach all board members, please email CPOB@akronohio.gov. 


Contact information for Independent Police Auditor Office:
330-375-2705
policeauditor@akronohio.gov


Board Meeting Notices: 

Full board meetings take place at Akron City Hall (166 S. High St. Akron, OH 44308) in the City Council Chambers (3rd floor) every other Wednesday at 6pm.

The next Citizens' Police Oversight Board Meeting is 03/06/2024.
Meetings are open to the public and include a public comment period. Must attend in person to provide public comment. 

The meetings are livestreamed on the City's YouTube page.


CPOB Meeting 02/21/2024.

  
CPOB approves statement of the Jayland Walker internal investigation during 11/29/2023 board meeting. Click here to read the released statement.


Citizens Police Oversight Board Hosting Town Hall to Introduce Police Auditor Candidate 

 

Subcommittee Meeting Notices

Human Resource Management Subcommittee
Governance Subcommittee
Community Engagement Subcommittee
Budget and Finance Subcommittee
Review Subcommittee

AGENDAS AND MINUTES

To view the Agendas for the Citizens Police Oversight Board Meetings as well as the agendas for the subcommittee meetings, click the button below: 

Agendas

To view the Minutes from the meetings please click the button below: 

Minutes


Filing A Citizen Complaint

It is the policy of the Akron Police Department to accept and review all citizen complaints regarding police service, policy, procedure, or personnel.  The citizen complaint process is available to anyone who believes Akron Police personnel may have performed in a manner that is in violation of their rules, the law, and/or a citizen’s rights. The fair, factual, and objective investigation of complaints is a priority.

How to File a Complaint

If you believe an officer or employee of the police department did something wrong, get the officer or employees’ name, badge or identification number, car number, or other identifying details.  If witnesses were at the scene, get their names and contact information.  Collect any evidence you believe is related to your complaint.   

Complaints may be filed in person, via telephone, via mail, via e-mail, or may be filed anonymously.  They may also be filed by contacting the independent police auditor at:

OFFICE OF THE POLICE AUDITOR
172 S. Broadway, Suite 207, Akron, OH 44308
330-375-2705
policeauditor@akronohio.gov

File a Complaint

Complaint forms are available for download here or in person at the information desk located inside the police department. A complaint form may be dropped off at your house upon request or mailed to you if you desire.  Once the complaint form is completed, return it to the police department at 217 S. High St. Akron, OH 44308 room 511 or e-mail it to apdcomplaints@akronohio.gov and copy CPOB@akronohio.gov


Compliment a Cop

The Officer Commendation Form provides individuals with the opportunity to share the exceptional service provided to them by Akron Police Officers and Supervisors. Please complete the form linked below and submit to police@akronohio.gov and copy CPOB@akronohio.gov

Submit a Compliment

Speaker Request Form

Please provide in the box below: Event Date, Time, Presentation Length Time, Audience Composition, Audience Size, Presentation Topic, and Expectations. For Audience Composition - Who is the audience? For example, are they predominantly older adults, immigrants, community leaders, or a neighborhood organization?