Your browser does not support JavaScript I want to

Contact Info and Maps
News and Entertainment

The Akron Civil Rights Commission is appointed by Mayor Dan Horrigan and approved by Akron City Council.  The Commission serves to provide residents with the opportunity to resolve discrimination issues at a local level. 

The Commission investigates complaints of unlawful discrimination based on background, beliefs, or identity based on:

  • Housing, including home sales, leases, rentals, and financial transactions.
  • Employment, including hiring, promotions, discipline, working conditions, and salary.
  • Public accommodations, including access to goods, services, business, and public spaces.
  • City contracts.

For a public information presentation from the Akron Civil Rights Commission click here

Akron's Non-Discrimination Ordinance (which enacted Title 3, Chapter 38 of the Codified Ordinances of the City of Akron) is available here.  The Code sections are also available online here

Housing Legislation - Ordinance No. 111-2021 "Pay to Stay" 
Housing Legislation - Ordinance No. 112-2021 "Source of Income Protections"

The Akron Civil Rights Commission Rules of Organization and Operation are available here

To file a complaint of discrimination with the Akron Civil Rights Commission, use the Complaint Form, available here Directions for submitting the form to the City are provided at the end of the form. 


Current Members of the Akron Civil Rights Commission 

Esther L. Thomas, Chair
Nanette P. Pitt, Vice Chair
GinaKaye Maddox
Dr. Sheldon B. Wrice
Ellen Lander-Nischt
Bruce Alexander 
Casey Miller

Top Requests
and Concerns

Mayor Don  Plusquellic

Search | Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Careers | Contact Us

© 2016 City of Akron. All Rights Reserved.

This page was printed from the City of Akron Web site
Visit us online at
© 2015 City of Akron. All Rights Reserved.