Your browser does not support JavaScript I want to

Contact Info and Maps
News and Entertainment
Official Seal of the City of Akron Official Seal of the City of Akron

The City is governed by the Mayor and City Council with the assistance of various departments, agencies and commissions.

The basic law of the government of the City of Akron is found in the City Charter, first adopted by a vote of the people on November 5, 1918, effective January 20, 1920, and subsequently amended from time to time. The Charter provides for a mayor-council type of municipal system, the Mayor being the executive branch and the Council the legislative. The City takes official action through the passage of ordinances and resolutions.

A Mayor, three At-Large Council persons, and Ward City Council are elected by City residents every four years.  Members of Commissions are generally appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of the City Council.

The Judicial branch of government is represented in Akron by The Akron Municipal Court.  It serves the cities of Akron and Fairlawn; the townships of Bath, Richfield and Springfield; the Villages of Lakemore and Richfield; and that part of Mogadore in Summit County, Ohio.

Additional Resources

Akron Municipal Building - City Hall

Akron Municipal Building - City Hall

Top Requests
and Concerns

Mayor Don  Plusquellic

Search | Sitemap | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Careers | Contact Us

© 2016 City of Akron. All Rights Reserved.

This page was printed from the City of Akron Web site
Visit us online at
© 2015 City of Akron. All Rights Reserved.