Your browser does not support JavaScript.

Summit County

Summit County was formed on March 3, 1840 from portions of Medina, Portage and Stark counties. It was named after the highest point on the Ohio and Erie Canal. Summit County, along with Cuyahoga County, is one of two of Ohio's 88 counties that has a charter government, as authorized by the Article X of the Ohio Constitution. Under its charter, rather than three elected commissioners, Summit County has an elected County Executive and an eleven member County Council. Eight members of the council are elected from individual districts the other three are elected at large. 

Visit for more information.

I’m lost, take me back to…



Economic Development

Community Profile

Business Climate

Business Services



Develop/Redevelop Areas


Contact Us

Text SizeText Size
Print PagePrint

This page was printed from the City of Akron Web site
Visit us online at www.
© 2013 City of Akron. All Rights Reserved.